The Way 

For those of you who don’t know, I am walking the Camino de Santiago! I am officially on my second week! We are walking from St. Jean, France to Santiago de Compostela, Galicia, Spain.

There’s so many questions I get about my trip but one of the biggest ones is, “How do you know where to go?” 

The thing is, I couldn’t show you on a normal map where I’m going on a daily basis. I know the end game, but each day all I know is I’m going to walk about 20-30 km and then maybe on a map of the Camino I could point to the cities we will go to that day! Really there’s no need for a map or a GPS. In order to know where to go, you follow the arrows or shells.  

Concha – Stone – St. Jean Pied de Port, France

This first picture of me is one of the first shells that is marking “the way”. From here on out we have found arrows or shells in just about any place in the city you can imagine and made out of just about anything, it’s really fascinating! 

Arrow – Spray Paint – Luzaide/Valcarlos, Spain
  
Concha – Printed – Auritz, Spain
  
Concha – Printed – Auritz, Spain
    
    
  
Concha – Metal – Parque Vuelta del Castillo, Pamplona, Spain
    

The mark of the “buen camino” – stones – Armañanzas

This is actually one of my  favorites! It may look like just a bunch of rocks to you, but if you look closely you can see that the rocks are carefully piled in stack after stack and to a pilgrim, it shows us to keep going!   
    
    
I really enjoy seeing the creative ways that each city decides to mark their own Camino​. I personally prefer the “fancier” and more creative arrows but really I am ok with any of them! They help me get where I need to be! 

 

On the Camino Francés, I believe it’s very easy to find your way and stay on the trail! The trickiest part is within the cities! The Camino gets a bit crazy within the cities and paying attention is key! 

One thought on “The Way 

Leave a Reply

